my first love

Follow your dreams. Seems harmless enough, right? After all, a dream is a wish your heart makes when you’re fast asleep….

I have been pursuing my dream of opening an Etsy shop to sell some of my artwork. And I got to see that dream come to reality when my shop, gracefullhome, opened on Monday!  I have been sketching and using it as a means to connect with people since I can remember. I recall drawing a picture for my best friend in first grade and giving it to her as a gift. I remember feeling like it was a special sentiment because it expressed without words how I felt about her, I liked her very much!

In middle school I spent my time (probably time I was supposed to be studying history) doodling and sketching on my book covers and notebooks. One particular sketch caught my dad’s eye and quickly made it to the fridge. He said, “You have a knack for lettering.” And to this day he still talks about that picture.

Mostly what I sketch is what is on my heart. Verses, songs, quotes… many themes are from my childhood and teen years, but mostly I pour onto paper what God is stirring in my heart at that moment. Sketching has become a way or me to linger with the Lord and take pleasure in the lesson and truths he is teaching me. It is a form of worship for me, and I have been praying over the last few months as this dream started to materialize that this shop would point to him, my first love, and that my heart would not tend toward another love as soon as the dream was realized. This is something I still need to pray. Now more than ever as I fight the temptation to check the shop every half hour!

 

I also do custom things that people order. For example, my pastor had me put together this for a mother’s day gift to every lady in our church this year.

john316print rgb

And this one was made especially for my friend’s son.

ben rgb

 

Last night I started a new custom order. The job is to sketch the word “Dreamer”. But I had to stop at Dream.

photo

 

This little project of mine is exiting for me. It’s a whole lot of fun, and it hopefully blessing others as well. But what is the real dream?

The real dream is that every knee would bow and every tongue would praise the name of Christ Jesus. (Romans 14:11)

The real dream is that he will come again, and when he does he will find his children holding fast to the faith. (Hebrews 10:23)

The real dream is preaching the gospel to ourselves every day and actually believing it. (Romans 5:8)

The real dream is not only being hearers of the word, but doers. That we can be his hands and feet here. (James 1:22-24)

Maybe words sketched on paper can help accomplish that in some hearts as they hang on a wall. That is the dream.

 

 

For another great post about dreaming big – but keeping your first love visit HERE.

 

Thanks for reading and coming alongside me in this journey! I hope you are blessed!

signature

 

One thought on “my first love

  1. Words BEAUTIFULLY sketched on paper really can accomplish those dreams in some hearts. Mine included. I need beautiful words and reminders in my home to keep me glued to Him. Thanks for your work and encouragement. You are so awesome. Such a great follower and share of Truth.

Leave a Reply

