Roaring River 2014 {While I’m not watching}

The Dude has been making this trip since he was 10 years old. 20 years. And now he gets to share the joy with all of his kids. And they love it.

IMG_0945

We come mostly for the fishing.IMG_0916

In the previous years, the Dude has sent up camp while I stay in a cabin with a few choice small children, whether in utero or nursing. But this year none of those conditions applied to me or our littles, so we decided to all tent camp.

Just like most things with small children, camping is not exactly easy… or particularly enjoyable. That’s not to say I didn’t have a great time, it just means that whenever I think of camping I envision long naps on the hammock and lots of time to read and sketch and think in the quiet late summer breeze. Dreamy sounding, no?

With my crew its more like a couple hours of heavy lifting with four or five bathroom breaks and skinned knees sprinkled in. And forget about naptime. Just forget about it. For my kids who still nap everyday, skipping four in a row takes its toll on a momma.

But, amid all the chaos and soaking wet socks I could see glimpses of a bright tomorrow when they can roast their own dogs and unroll their own sleeping bags. When re-rigging their lines are their job, and hiking through the woods wouldn’t be the act of a couple deranged adults and their children, but would actually make a bit of sense.

IMG_0965

IMG_0931

 

IMG_0972

Although it took quite a bit of effort, we did manage to get in some sketching and watercoloring. The kids had a lot of free space to ride their bikes, and we caught a lot of fish. The final count of each child was as follows:

Monkey- 12

IMG_0915

IMG_0914

IMG_0943

IMG_0920

Bear- 12

IMG_0951

IMG_0942

IMG_0922

 

Little Dude- 4

IMG_0935

IMG_0937

Tiger- 0  {He lost his fishing pole in about 15 minutes, I think he threw it in the river.}

IMG_0959

 

We did all the normal stuff {like smores and campfire songs, and counting stars} and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

IMG_0924

IMG_0927

 

But, it was hard. And I was really tired when I got home. When will this pay off? When will they be old enough to help? I think it will happen without me looking. Like watching a pot of water boil, so it is with watching the work you put into training your kids pay off. It happens gradually, without us taking much notice. Not just with things like camping but the everyday things as well.

 

Think of others before yourself.

Be kind with your words and hands.

Be helpful.

Be a blessing.

Obey.

These words are spoken around here every day and most days seem to fall on deaf ears. But I pray, through the working of God’s grace, that their hearts will be regenerated and they will begin to change, little by little, while I’m not really watching.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Roaring River 2014 {While I’m not watching}

  1. Yep, it happens without watching. As long as you are intentional, God will be faithful to His promises: “Bring up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it” One day you’ll turn around and your children will have children of their own and they too will be training their children in the way they should go. God is awesome and you daughter, are a blessing.

  2. LOVE the new banner up top…I’m assuming you made it??
    Andie is too much. I think it is because Jane resembles her, but every picture I see, I think, “she.is.so.precious!”

    • Thanks! I did design the new header :) and I agree, Jane does resemble Andie, which makes me want to squeeze Jane and take her home so I can relive the little years with her again :)

Leave a Reply

