Full circle

I love it when life comes full circle. Like when you become a mom for the first time and all of the sudden appreciate your mom for all the sleepless nights and dirty diapers. Your tunnel vision gets swept away in a sea of reality and you learn some thing about yourself and about life. {And then you call your mom!}
I had one of those moments tonight at our church’s VBS. I was teaching some pretty sweet kids about the miracles of Jesus tonight and one of our activities was listening to a story about how the circumstances {some miraculous} in his life led him to trusting in Christ.

I had the kids think of the circumstances God has placed in their lives that have helped them know more about Jesus. One idea was that God had given his parents the idea to bring him to vacation bible school every year.

As the evening drew to a close and I was prepping my room for tomorrow night, that thought came rushing back to me. That God has worked circumstance out in the lives of each of these children to be right there in this room to hear about his Son. He is beaconing these kids to believe. And he did that to me too.

It is crystal clear to me because I am outside the looking glass. The backdrop of VBS is visible to me. I have come full circle. I am so thankful for the teachers who poured so much into the vacation bible schools I attended as a child. Who prayed and prepared, who loved me enough to give up 5 nights in order to tell my captive heart of the one who loves me. I may not remember all the decorations, the key verses and songs, or even what stories we learned, but I do remember one thing. The name of Jesus.

I love teaching VBS. This is my 5th year and I am looking forward to many to come, God willing. To be a part of his plan to draw children to himself is exhilarating.

Please join me in praying for the Father to do a mighty work in the hearts of the children in vacation Bible school this week and thank him for drawing them there to hear the name of Jesus.

20140714-235426-86066329.jpg

Oh yea, I’m that VBS teacher!!!

Leave a Reply

