Strawberries

We live near an Amish community. Which is excellent for many reasons including pie, farm fresh everything, and strawberries. I had the opportunity recently to buy a flat of strawberries. A flat is somewhere around 8-12 pounds as I understand it. I kept most of the first flat, using what I could before they became over-ripe. I made freezer jam, strawberry syrup for pancakes and waffles, we ate them in salads, on shortcake and straight out of the bowl. April 2013 040

The second flat I got was pretty ripe from the get-go, so I gave a bunch away and tried to use the rest quickly. My favorite way? With fresh whipped cream and coffee. There are strawberries down there somewhere :).

April 2013 041

What is your favorite strawberry recipe? Here’s one for you to try.

Spring Strawberry Salad

strawsalad

Ingredients:

1 bag baby leaf spinach

3/4 pound strawberries, sliced

1/2 cup walnuts

1/4 cup feta cheese, crumbled

Poppyseed dressing, to taste {like Newman’s Own}

Directions:

Toss all ingredients together and enjoy!




I’m linking up with Weekend Potluck.

4littlefergusons
2 thoughts on “Strawberries

  1. I’m not a big fan of salads, but add fruit and I’ll have seconds! This salad looks refreshing and delicious. Thanks so much for sharing at Weekend Potluck. We’d love it if you’d link back. =)

Leave a Reply

