Plans change

I had big plans this weekend. Most of them worked out just fine, but some of the ones I was most looking forward to did not. The Dude’s brother got married to a lovely lady whom I love so much. They had asked Monkey and Bear to be a part of their big day by being one of the flower girls and the ring bearer. The kids were pumped… well except for those pesky tight tux shoes. But on the way to the wedding Bear suddenly got sick in the car and didn’t recover in time to make it down the aisle. When we arrived at the wedding sight Monkey had over 100 degree temperature. It all came on so fast, I did not see any of it coming. There were several things I was bummed about these circumstances, but by the grace of God I am going through the book Choosing Gratitude by Nancy Le DeMoss. So instead of dwelling on everything that I wish didn’t happen or that I wish I could change, I’m going to use this blog to document all of the things I am thankful for this weekend.

I am thankful for a new sister who handled last minute changes in her wedding plans with grace and poise. 

I am thankful for a sister of 6 years who stepped up and really helped take care of my ailing children.

I am thankful for a mother-in-law who held a shaky, feverish Monkey in her mother of the groom dress, before the ceremony. Crazy woman.

I am thankful for parents who would drive six hours just to take care of my children.

I am thankful that my kids are normally healthy, happy, and vibrant. That sickness is rare for us when so many battle much more serious ongoing issues.

I am thankful for grandparents who will change their vacation plans to make sure I got back to Kansas okay.

I am thankful for rest and healing in our own home.

I am thankful that even in uncertainty the Lord is faithful.

I am thankful that he uses our fragility to draw us closer to Him and to make us more like His Son.

I am thankful that the Lord is teaching me to hold my plans in an open hand so that I am able to submit to him when he changes them.

**A week has gone by since I began writing this post. So many details of that difficult weekend have faded with time, but the lesson remains. 

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 4:6-7

2 thoughts on “Plans change

  1. What an inspiration you are. Thank you for sharing the insight the Lord has given you. I will travel more than 6 hours to care for those babies anytime.
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

