A forest of preschool activites {part 2}

This post is an explanation of some preschool activities we have been doing with 10 trees around here lately. To see the first part of this post, go HERE.

Tree 6: Chicka Chicka Boom Boom Tree

Have you read the book? It is one of my kids’ favorites. We have a set of colorful die-cut letters that we play with as we reenact the story. I drew a tree branch on an envelope and attached it to the tree top so the kids can climb the tree with the lower case letters as I read the book. There is a point in the book where all the little letters fall out of the tree, so the kids get to empty the envelope and throw the little letters to the ground {their favorite part!} 

Then the ‘mommy and daddy’ letters pick up their ‘little ones’ and make sure they aren’t hurt, so Monkey and Bear match the ower case  letters with the upper case which I attached along the bottom of the wall.

 

Tree 7: Nature walk

Some friends and I decided to take our kids on a nature hike last week. The kids collected their treasures along the way. When we got home we dumped out our bags and discussed their finds. Then we glued a map of the nature center trails and items from the nature walk onto the tree. Monkey and I labeled the items. We had to wait about 2 days for the glue to dry, but now it is beautifully hanging on our wall!

Day 8: Caught Being Thankful Tree

I cut several leaves out of paper and keep them close by with a pen and tape. When the kids say ‘thank you’ for something I write it down on a leaf and they get to attach it to the tree. This is a good activity for younger kids because they might not know how to answer the question what are you thankful for? When I asked Monkey that question she just looked around the room and started naming things she saw. By focusing on the things she says ‘thank you’ for during the day, she is becoming more aware of what she really is thankful for.

Day 9: Shape matching

This activity is mostly for my two year old. I cut large and small shapes from construction paper. We glued the large shapes to the tree top and then he matched the small shapes and glued them while we reviewed the names and attributes of each shape. I didn’t keep track of how many little shapes I cut out, so after we had them all glued down, Bear and I counted the shapes together and wrote the number down. Also, I purposely didn’t match the color of the big shapes to the color of the little ones. Sometimes when I ask him what shape it this?, he gives me the color. When he was tempted to put a blue circle on the blue star I reminded him that we were matching shape, not color. This activity seemed to really help him in that respect.

Day 10: Family tree

With the holidays and family reunions approaching, I thought it would be helpful to review who certain family members are and how they are related to us. Family trees can be confusing, so I simplified it to who we were going to see during the holidays. I found and printed pictures of everyone and used my 1 1/2 inch circle punch to cut out their faces. I laid out the tree and traced around the pictures.

Then I removed the pictures and worked with Monkey and Bear on putting it back together and glueing the pictures down. Bear is saying that’s my gramma Toodlebugs. No joke, that’s what my kids call my mom! I drew lines between each generation indicating where each person came from. Monkey helped me label this tree. While we were working I said things like:

GG had a baby a long time ago, who was GG’s baby?

Who is L’s mommy?

Mommy has a brother, where do you think his picture should go?

Tree trunks: Each truck is labeled with a number and the number word, all in different colors. The kids can walk down the wall counting the trees. Monkey can look at the word and begin to get familiar with number sight words. And I can use the colors to ask Bear to touch the yellow number, or which number is blue. Just a few things you could do here. The plan was originally to glue the corresponding number of acorns tops to each tree so they could also practice one-to-one counting and it would challenge Monkey to count all the way to 55 {which is how many acorns you would need all-together, by the way.} But that just hasn’t happened yet and I was starting to get antsy to write about all of these activities.

I hope you enjoyed this post and will find some of the activities inspiring or useful, thanks again for taking time to hang out here on my little blog! Have a great weekend!

Elizabeth Ann

4 thoughts on “A forest of preschool activites {part 2}

Leave a Reply

