Peanut butter cupcakes with chocolate ganache

Hi. My name is Elizabeth Ann and I addicted to peanut butter. I eat peanut butter everyday, it makes me happy. Here is a fun {and easy} recipe for all you PB lovers out there.

Peanut Butter Cupcakes

  • 1 pkg white cake mix
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3 egg whites

Follow the instructions on the cake box {mine called for the egg, water, and oil that I mentioned in the ingredient list}. Once you have your cake batter fold in the peanut butter. Grease a muffin tin and fill each 2/3 full. Bake according to the directions on the box. Cool completely.

Seriously, how easy was that? Now to make them even yummier…

Chocolate Ganache

  • 1 pkg semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup half and half

Assemble a double boiler by placing a heat proof bowl on top of a pot of simmering water. Add chocolate and half and half to the bowl and stir until smooth and shiny. Keep this from boiling so you don’t burn the chocolate. Spoon generously over cupcakes in a not-so-perfect manner. Let cool and then enjoy. Do not refrigerate though or the ganache will get too hard. This would be a good time to share with your neighbor! Otherwise you might eat all of them…

I challenge anyone to name a better combination than peanut butter and chocolate.

I have to say I feel a bit guilty about making tasty treats from peanut butter because Monkey has a peanut allergy. In an attempt to make up for it I made allergen-free chocolate pudding. I googled easy chocolate pudding and got this recipe from allrecipes.com. {I replaced the 2 cups milk with 2 cups unsweetened almond milk and it turned out just great!}

Chocolate Pudding

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Combine sugar, cocoa powder, and cornstarch in a sauce pan. Slowly add milk while stirring over med heat. Keep stirring until it starts to thicken {this took several minutes}, then cook and stir continuously for three more minutes. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla. Chill and serve cold.

Monkey loved it! It’s not often she gets chocolate, so this was definitely a treat and I have a feeling I will be making it often.

For a fun preschool activity, let your kids “paint” with the leftover pudding. We did this in my 4-5 year old Sunday school class last Sunday and the kids absolutely loved it! Be sure they are wearing smocks and the entire table is covered because it gets messy!

We told the story of the prodigal son from Luke 15:11-32. In that parable a boy ends up having to feed pigs for a living and gets so hungry that he eats the pigs’ food. We spread the pudding out on the paper, pretending it was mud. I let the kids have several minutes of free play with it. The great thing about pudding paint is they can lick their fingers, which led us into reviewing the story again. {I would say you’re eating mud! Did someone in our story eat something yucky?}Then we used our fingers to draw key elements of the story into our “mud” {ie boy, pig, father, house}. Pudding turned out to be a great teaching tool, who knew?! I wish I had pictures for you, but my hands were covered in pudding so I couldn’t pick up my camera. I hope you try this with your kids {or Sunday school class, or grandkids…}!

Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

