All good things

There is rarely a sweeter moment for me as a mom when I hear my small children voice heartfelt prayers to God. I love to listen in on their conversations with the Father about what is on their hearts and minds. They have no fear of asking for exactly what they want, no matter how silly it sounds. No doubt this is what Jesus meant when he said to come with the faith of a child.

However, most of the time the prayer goes like this:

Monkey: Dear God, Thank you for this food and for mommy and daddy and Bear and Baby. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

Bear: Thank you for mommy, daddy, monkey, Bear, Baby. Amen.

These prayers are great, really sweet. But I know all too well from personal experience that it is easy to get stuck in a prayer rut, asking for the same things over and over. Where is the power in that? Where is the praise? Here are some activities I used to help my children think of other things to pray for.

{1} Prayer sticks – Write prayer requests on popsicle sticks. Have each child choose on at prayer time and pray for whatever is on the stick. I tried to include prayers of praise, thanks, repentance, and petition.

 

{2} Prayer cube – cover a square box with colored paper. Put a prayer on each side. Cover in clear tape, like packing tape. At prayer time have a child roll the cube like a die. Whichever color is on top, that is the prayer you say. If the child is young and can’t read, have them repeat after you as you read it. Here are the prayers from our cube:

Dear God,

Thank you for mommy and daddy, Monkey, Bear, and Baby. Please help us be kind to each other and to love you more every day.

Amen.

Dear God,

Please forgive me for my sins. I know I cannot be good by myself. Please help me by giving me your Holy Spirit. Please help me to love you more.

Amen.

Dear God,

Thank you for food, and clothes, and our home. You give us everything that we have, and everything that we have is good. Thank you!

Amen.

Dear God,

I know that you are in charge of everything. Please use your power to keep my family safe and happy. Help me not to forget about you, but to tell others about your love.

Amen.

Dear God,

You are so big! You made the mountains, and the oceans, and the sky, and every living thing! You also made me. Thank you for making me and loving me.

Amen.

 

You can use mine or make up your own. You can even look up preschool sing-song prayers online. I just wanted the focus to mainly be God and not us.

{3} Prayer request poster – Make a poster of prayer requests for your family. Have your child help you think of things they would like to pray for. As you brainstorm, remind them of things the Bible says about prayer.

1 Peter 5:7, Matthew 21:22, Matthew 26:41, Mark 11:24, Philippians 4:6, 1 Thessalonians 5:17

You might want to add your favorite prayer verses to your poster. Put the poster in a prominent place and pray for the things listed often. You can decorate the poster with your children, I think we’ll use watercolor paints… Ours isn’t filled in yet, but hopefully you get the idea.

So far these activities have really helped our family prayer times. The kids are more excited to pray and are learning a lot about their Father in the process. All good things.

Until next time,

Elizabeth Ann

5 thoughts on “All good things

  1. “Bring up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it” You are doing a wonderful job of teaching your children Elizabeth Ann, Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

