Heat and boredom busters {Day 4}

It is still so hot here but the kids desperately needed some outdoor time. We invited Monkey’s friend over yesterday for some swimming in our blow-up pool. The kids get bored with it pretty fast if they don’t have a friend over to swim with them, especially if the water is cold, which it was. Frigid. You would think that would feel awesome to them when it is 105°, but I have a different theory. I think that when it is mildly hot {like 80°-90°} the water feels better because there is less of a difference between air temperature and water temperature…. In any case, they had more fun when I put the slide from our swing set in the pool.

My kids are afraid of the water. Mostly of getting their heads wet. Any suggestions for ridding them of this fear? Maybe I haven’t had them in the water enough, some of their friends are really good swimmers.

After swimming the kids opted to eat outside for lunch. By the time lunch was over we hauled them inside. The mamas were getting too hot. Sorry, no pictures of pool time.

After nap Bear and I decided to make smoothies. Monkey was a little grumpy and didn’t want to help. I mentioned the other day that Monkey is allergic to eggs. She also has a milk and peanut allergy so yogurt based smoothies are out of the question. Luckily, there was a smoothie recipe on the back of our almond milk carton! I adapted it a little for what we had on hand. This is what we came up with:

3/4 cup almond milk

1 cup frozen strawberries

1/2 fresh peach, peeled

1/2 fresh banana

1/2 cup ice

Toss everything into a blender and blend until smooth.

Monkey didn’t want to help make the smoothies, but she was more than willing to taste them. Maybe we should read The Little Red Hen again.

Our extra-special indoor activity yesterday was making wonder-tubes. Here’s how it went down:

1. I gave each of the kids a basket and we went on a treasure hunt through their toys looking for small objects in every color. We found things like marbles, mini plastic bears, poker chips, beads, mini plastic animals, play rings, colored fuzzy balls, and mini bouncy balls.

2. We separated our treasure into bowls by color.

3. I gave them each an empty glass jar with a lid. They chose a few things from each color and put them into the jars.

4. They filled the jars up with rice and I secured the lid tightly. You could glue the lids on if you want these to be permanent. My kids can’t open jars yet so I didn’t worry about it. We used plain white rice, but you could color it like we did the pasta on day 2 if you have older preschooler and want to make finding the objects more challenging.

We played “I Spy” with our new wonder tubes for a while. You say, I spy with my little eye something purple. Then they spin and shake their wonder-tube until they find one of the purple items. This was fun, and great for helping Bear with his colors, he’s almost got them down!

I dumped all the leftover rice into a plastic tub and they “cooked” with it while I made lunch. I think they would have played a lot longer, I’ll keep it handy for the weekend.

This week has been a lot of fun! Next week is setting up to be another scorcher, I’ll have to come up with more activities. Something active would be nice. Any suggestions?

Thanks for reading!

Elizabeth Ann

One thought on “Heat and boredom busters {Day 4}

Leave a Reply

