A change of scenery

Yesterday I ignored that fact that I haven’t blogged for 17 days! Wow, where has this month gone? Actually, I can tell you exactly where it has gone. Since my last post on June 9th I have been a 1st-3rd grade teacher at VBS and visited the Dude’s sister and my niece in New Mexico. I don’t know if many of you have traveled 900 miles with three small children, it’s not always easy. I’m learning that so many things in life can be enjoyable with the right perspective. I have to admit that after a week of planning and teaching vacation Bible school I wasn’t looking forward to spending my only free day packing and then loading my gang in the car for days on end. So as the trip went on I made  a conscious effort to find positives whenever I could.

The most obvious positive for me was the change in scenery. I love living in Kansas. I think the Kansas prairie is very pretty in the summer. I’m not lacking in opportunities to leave Kansas. But when we travel, it is most often to Texas to visit the grands. Oklahoma and Texas are not extremely exciting to look at. New Mexico however is markedly different. Mountains, mesas, buttes. Fun new things to take in! I found myself wishing I had more time to photograph the scenery. The best I could do was from the backyard and the car.

I had plenty of time to photograph the children! Baby enjoyed the change of scenery too. If there is one thing Monkey and Bear appreciate it is a park they have never been to before.

The Playground of Dreams as it was called did not disappoint! The kids had ample time to swim. Baby even convinced mom to get in the pool… I must love him.

Aunt L’s house was fun too, Bear loved the cat.

The week was rounded out with…

…along with a trip to Albuquerque, Mr. Poppers Penguins, shopping, a broken toe, and a long drive home. The four hours from Albuquerque to Amarillo felt like four days. I got a little camera happy.

I apologize again for neglecting my blog! It won’t happen again, hopefully.  

Leave a Reply

