Very best cookies

If you find yourself indoors this weekend looking for a project, try these cookies!

I like to try out new recipes, I have more cookbooks than I will ever be able to use. But when I come across a successful tried-and-true recipe I stick to it. The very best cookie I have ever had is my mom’s chocolate chip. I’m not creative enough to come up with my own recipes, but I like to tinker with ones that I have. Here is the base of my mom’s very best chocolate chip cookie.

2 ¼ cup all purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

¾ cup sugar

¾ light brown sugar, lightly packed

1 tsp vanilla

2 large eggs

I use my beautiful kitchen-aid mixer to creme the butter and sugars. Then I add the eggs (one at a time) and vanilla. Then comes the dry ingredients, I like to add the flour in 1/2 cup batches waiting to add the next until the first is completely incorporated. For the chocolate I deviate a little from my mom’s recipe. She uses 2 cups semi-sweet chips. I use 1 cup semi-sweet and 1 cup milk chocolate. I like a big cookie, so I drop a generous tablespoonful onto a cookie sheet and bake at 375° for 9-11 minutes. Let the cookies rest for two minutes on the sheet after they are removed from the oven.

I was feeling a bit creative so for my second cookie my add-ins were 1 cup oats, 1 cup dried cherries, and 1 cup dark chocolate (62% cacao).

You can enjoy them like this.

Or my favorite way, like this.

Is there anything sweeter than a fresh baked cookie?

I can think of something!

Have a great weekend!

Elizabeth Ann

One thought on “Very best cookies

Leave a Reply

