Grow Flowers, Grow!

I have always wanted to have a garden. I remember reading books like The Secret Garden as a child and dreaming of walking through elaborate mazes of pansies, sunflowers, and gardenias. I imagined the bees and butterflies buzzing around me and could feel the warm summer sun on my back as I bent down to tend to one of the beds. Gardens are magical places where God shows his glory and providence. In Genesis God gave Adam the Garden of Eden and told him to work it and keep it (Genesis 2:15). Flowers remind me of God’s continual care for us and not to be anxious in anything. Jesus illustrated this in the sermon on the mount.

And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin,  yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.  But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? Matthew 6:28-30

So this weekend we worked our garden and planted some seeds. I opted for seeds as opposed to baby plants because I thought seeing the process from the beginning would be a great experience in patience for my kids. We are taking pictures every couple of days and will chart the progress at the end of the summer.

We also planted two cherry tomato plants so the kids can enjoy some edible fruits of their labor. The plan is to do a full vegetable garden in the back yard next summer… baby steps, right?

My hope and prayer is that our garden grows lush and full, we will give God all the glory!

3 thoughts on “Grow Flowers, Grow!

Leave a Reply

