Grandma’s legacy

When I think of visits to my grandma’s house when I was a child I always remember the special breakfasts that she used to make. I can still smell the bacon in the kitchen as all 5 grandkids and our parents crammed around the glass circle table awaiting our personalized pancakes in the shape of our first initial.

I tried to do this a few weeks ago with Monkey’s initial and failed miserably. I asked my mom, how did grandma do it? How did she form such perfect letters? How did she flip them? My mom said, I don’t know, she was grandma. Thanks mom.

 I decided to give it another go today. At the mention of pancakes the kids jumped off the couch and waited rather impatiently at their little table in the kitchen while I whipped up a batch. Monkey is allergic to milk, eggs, and peanuts so I have to make them of the allergen free variety. Here is my recipe, adapted from What’s to Eat by Linda Coss.

 1 ½ c flour
2 ½ Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp   baking powder
2/3 c coconut milk
1 tsp vanilla
¾ c water
And for the “egg”: 2 ½ Tbsp water, 2 ½ Tbsp canola oil, 1 ½ tsp baking powder; mixed together

Heat an electric griddle to 350 deg. In a large bowl combine dry ingredients. In a slightly smaller bowl combine coconut milk and water. In an even smaller bowl, mix up the “egg”.  Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add the wet ingredients. With a strong arm and a wooden spoon, stir until smooth.

 

Transfer the batter to something with a spout, I used my glass measuring cup.

 

Spray the griddle with non-stick cooking spray. Slowly pour the batter into the letter of your choice. Then wait for bubbles to appear, and then disappear on the wet surface of the pancake. The key here is to be patient! You don’t want to attempt a flip too early – trust me!

When you can’t stand the suspense any longer, wait 20 more seconds. Spray the two biggest spatulas you have with non-stick cooking spray and slide them under the pancake. Then harness your inner Julia Child and 3-2-1 flip!

Success! Grandma Ann would be proud!

 

These pancakes were bigger than their heads,

 

But that didn’t seem to be a problem!

Have a blessed day!

2 thoughts on “Grandma’s legacy

Leave a Reply

